Energy Only to Capacity – What’s Next?

Alberta’s energy market is steadily transitioning from an energy only to capacity. Set to be implemented by 2021, key power stakeholders are preparing themselves for this transformation.

CI Energy Group’s 6th Annual Alberta Power Symposium is the place to hear from and connect with key stakeholder from the power sector, as they share their insights and experiences in light of recent policy changes and developments.



As such, we are very pleased to announce the launch of The Canadian Institute’s Power Symposia Advisory Board.

Advisory Board Members

Brian Vaasjo
President and CEO
Capital Power Corporation

Timothy Boston
Vice President, Public Policy and
Government Relations


Richard Stout
Principal Consultant
Association of Major Power Customers of BC

Devin McCarthy
Vice President – Energy, Federal
Sussex Strategy Group

Joanna Osawe
Women in Renewable Energy (WiRE)


Click here to see Messages from the 2018 Power Series Advisory Board Members.

With insights, recommendations and thought leadership from these experts, we are all working hard to compose a program that will meet your needs and demands to expertly understand and steer through the ongoing transition revolving Alberta’s electricity landscape. Explore key issues such as the impact of the carbon footprint in Alberta, the potential for disruptive tech in power, the possibility of dispatchable renewables and so much more.

Industry Breakdown

Participating organizations this year include:

  • TransAlta Corporation
  • ATCO Electric
  • CanSIA
  • Capital Power Corporation
  • Midcontinent Independent System Operator (MISA)
  • ENMAX Corporation
  • First Nations Power Authority
  • And many more…


Engage with Leading Experts, including:


Feedback from Past Alberta Power Attendees

  • “Brings different perspectives on the current topic.”– Ere Kuran, Manager, EPCOR
  • “Very knowledge people (present).”– Chris Eyre, District Manager, Graham Construction
  • “Very informative.”– Alan Murray, Assistant Business Manager, IBEW

Hotel Arts